General Announcements

California's Future Report

The Public Policy Institute of California released the 2019 California's Future report on January 10. The report is a series of briefings on California's most pressing long-term policy challenges and includes topics such as climate change, land use, water, education, economy, healthcare, housing and the political landscape. Download the full report. 

Little Hoover Commission Releases Final Report on Special Districts and LAFCos

The Little Hoover Commission, after a year of study, released their Final Report on August 30, 2017, on Special Districts. The report, titled: "Special Districts: Improving Oversight & Transparency", is a culmination of a year-long study by the Commission that included two public hearings and two roundtable discussion forums. The report focuses on district oversight and transparency and has a special emphasis on healthcare districts as well as climate change.  CALAFCO issued a press release on the report. 

2021 CALAFCO Annual Conference Canceled

2021 CALAFCO Annual Conference

Due to ongoing health and safety concerns regarding the pandemic, the in-person CALAFCO Annual Conference has been canceled. We are working to reschedule many of the sessions in the program to a virtual format, and will post that schedule and registration information soon.

Announcing a new webinar - Infrastructure & Cyber Security: What you need to know

October 8, 2021 9 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.
Maintaining security of public assets in the face of constantly evolving threats is a challenge for all organizations. You won’t want to miss this informative and valuable session, which will identify potential threats to your agency’s property and information technology systems and highlight available services and resources to help you assess your agency’s level of security. We have two experts from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security to address this critical topic.

You will find session details here, and can register online from our Education page here

The session is sponsored by Highroad Technology

CALAFCO 2021-22 Board of Directors Elections Update

The nomination period for the fall 2021 CALAFCO Board of elections is now closed. The election will be conducted by e-ballot and the Election Committee will meet virtually to count the ballots and certify the election on Thursday, October 7, 2021 at 8:00 a.m. The election results will be announced during the annual business meeting on Thursday, October 7, 2021 at 9:00 a.m. The following seats are open:

Central Region                     Southern Region              Northern Region              Coastal Region

City Member                         County Member                County Member             City Member

Public Member                      District Member               District Member               Public Member